Skip to Content

Snowflake Delete Activity

Introduction

A Snowflake Delete activity, using its Snowflake connection, deletes table data and view data from Snowflake and is intended to be used as a target to consume data in an operation.

Create a Snowflake Delete Activity

An instance of a Snowflake Delete activity is created from a Snowflake connection using its Delete activity type.

To create an instance of an activity, drag the activity type to the design canvas or copy the activity type and paste it on the design canvas. For details, see Creating an Activity Instance in Component Reuse.

An existing Snowflake Delete activity can be edited from these locations:

Configure a Snowflake Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a Snowflake Delete activity:

Step 1: Enter a Name and Select an Object

In this step, provide a name for the activity and select a table or view (see Snowflake's Overview of Views). Each user interface element of this step is described below.

Snowflake Delete Activity Configuration Step 1

  • Name: Enter a name to identify the activity. The name must be unique for each Snowflake Delete activity and must not contain forward slashes / or colons :.

  • Select an Object: This section displays objects available in the Snowflake endpoint. When reopening an existing activity configuration, only the selected object is displayed instead of reloading the entire object list.

    • Selected Snowflake Object: After an object is selected, it is listed here.

    • Search: Enter any column's value into the search box to filter the list of objects. The search is not case-sensitive. If objects are already displayed within the table, the table results are filtered in real time with each keystroke. To reload objects from the endpoint when searching, enter search criteria and then refresh, as described below.

    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to reload objects from the Snowflake endpoint. This may be useful if objects have been added to Snowflake. This action refreshes all metadata used to build the table of objects displayed in the configuration.

    • Selecting an Object: Within the table, click anywhere on a row to select an object. Only one object can be selected. The information available for each object is fetched from the Snowflake endpoint:

      • Name: The name of an object, either a table or a view.

      • Type: The type of the object, either a table or a view.

    Tip

    If the table does not populate with available objects, the Snowflake connection may not be successful. Ensure you are connected by reopening the connection and retesting the credentials.

  • Save & Exit: If enabled, click to save the configuration for this step and close the activity configuration.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2: Review the Data Schemas

Any request or response schemas generated from the endpoint are displayed. Each user interface element of this step is described below.

Snowflake Delete Activity Configuration Step 2

  • Data Schemas: These data schemas are inherited by adjacent transformations and are displayed again during transformation mapping.

    Note

    Data supplied in a transformation takes precedence over the activity configuration.

    The Snowflake connector uses the Snowflake JDBC Driver and the Snowflake SQL commands. Refer to the API documentation for information on the schema nodes and fields.

    The request and response data schemas consist of these nodes and fields:

    • Request

      Request Schema Field/Node Notes
      whereClause Node of the WHERE clause.
      columnName Path or prefix under which the data will be uploaded on the Snowflake stage.
      condition Data file contents, in CSV format, that is to be staged for uploading to the Snowflake table.
      value Destination file name to be used on the Snowflake stage.
    • Response

      Response Schema Field/Node Notes
      numberOfRowsDeleted Count of rows deleted.
      error Node of the error.
      errorMessage Error message response.
  • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to regenerate schemas from the Snowflake endpoint. This action also regenerates a schema in other locations throughout the project where the same schema is referenced, such as in an adjacent transformation.

  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a Snowflake Delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities, transformations, or scripts as operation steps. You can also configure the operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

Menu actions for an activity are accessible from the project pane and the design canvas. For details, see Activity Actions Menu in Connector Basics.

Snowflake Delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

To use the activity with scripting functions, write the data to a temporary location and then use that temporary location in the scripting function.

When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.