Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

A Jira connection is configured via the Jira connector to establish access to an account on the Jira server. Once a connection is established, you can configure one or more Jira activities associated with that connection to use as a source or target within an operation.

Creating or Editing a Jira Connection

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Connectivity tab

To configure a new Jira connection, within the Connectors filter, click the Jira connector block:

Connectivity tab

To configure an existing Jira connection, within the Endpoints filter, double-click the Jira connection block:

Connectivity tab

This will open a configuration screen for the Jira connection, covered below.

Obtaining a Jira API Token

Basic authentication requests for Jira Cloud servers should use API tokens instead of Atlassian Jira account passwords.

To obtain, create, and manage an API token, see the instructions at Atlassian's site and in particular the steps to log in to Atlassian Manage API Tokens and create a new API token.

This token should be stored securely, just as for any password. It is used when configuring a connection and is to be entered in the Jira API Token field.

Configuring a Jira Connection

Configuration of a Jira connection includes these fields:

Connectivity tab

TIP: Fields with a variable icon Variable icon support using global variables, project variables, and Jitterbit variables. Begin typing an open square bracket [ into the field or click the variable icon to display existing variables to choose from.

  • Endpoint Name: Enter a name to use to identify the Jira connection. The name must be unique for each Jira connection and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).

  • Jira Hostname: Enter the Jira hostname. The name can be preceded by either https:// or http://. If not provided, https:// is assumed.

  • Jira Username: Enter the Jira username.

  • Jira API Token: Enter the Jira API token. See Obtaining a Jira API Token above.

  • Test: Click this button to verify the connection. The server will check only that the specified user can make a connection.

  • Save Changes: Click this button to save and close the connection configuration.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes to a new or existing configuration, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

  • Delete: After opening an existing connection configuration, click Delete to permanently delete the connection from the project and close the configuration (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal). A message will ask you to confirm that you want to delete the connection.

Next Steps

After configuring a Jira connection, you can configure one or more Jira activities associated with that connection to use as a source or target within an operation. For more information, see these pages:

  • Create: Creates new objects at a Jira connection and is used as a target in an operation.

  • Update: Updates existing objects in a Jira connection and is used as a target in an operation.

  • Delete: Deletes objects in a Jira connection and is used as a target in an operation.

On This Page

Last updated:  Mar 27, 2019

  • No labels