Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

A NetSuite delete activity deletes records in a NetSuite connection as a target in an operation. After configuring a NetSuite connection, you can configure as many NetSuite activities as you like for each NetSuite connection. The update activity requires the use of either an internal or external ID field to delete existing records.

Creating a NetSuite Activity

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Within the Endpoints filter, click the NetSuite connection block to display activities that are available to be used with a NetSuite connection:

To create an activity that can be configured, the activity must first be added to an operation on the design canvas. To add an activity to an operation, drag the activity block from the palette to the operation.

For more information about the parts of an operation and adding activities to operations, see Operation Creation and Configuration.

Accessing Menu Actions

After a NetSuite activity has been added to an operation, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in both the Workflows and Components tabs, and from the design canvas:

  • Project Pane: In the Workflows or Components tab of the project pane, hover over an activity name and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu.

  • Design Canvas: Within the operation, click an existing activity block to open the actions menu.

Each of these menu actions is available:

  • View/Edit: This opens the activity configuration screen for you to configure the activity. For details, see Configuring a NetSuite Delete Activity later on this page.
  • Delete: This is used to permanently delete the activity (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Rename: This positions the cursor on the activity name in the project pane for you to make edits.
  • View Dependencies: This changes the view in the project pane to display any other parts of the project that the activity is dependent on (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Remove: Available only from the actions menu on the design canvas, this removes the activity as a step in the operation without deleting it from the project. When you remove an activity that is adjacent to a transformation, if schemas are provided within that activity, they will no longer be referenced by the transformation. Removed components can be accessed or permanently deleted from the project pane (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Deploy: This deploys the activity and any components it is dependent on (see Component Deployment).
  • Configurable Deploy: This opens the deployment screen, where you can select project components to deploy (see Component Deployment).
  • Add to group: This opens a prompt to create a new custom group or to add the component to an existing group. Custom groups are an organizational tool to help organize a project (see Component Groups).
  • Duplicate: This creates a copy of the activity as a new, unreferenced component. Upon creating the component copy, the cursor is positioned on the component name within the project pane for you to rename the component.

Configuring a NetSuite Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a NetSuite delete activity:

Step 1 – Enter Basic Information

  • Name: Enter a name to use to identify the NetSuite activity. The name must be unique for each NetSuite delete activity and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).
  • Save & Exit: If enabled, click to save the configuration for this step and close the activity configuration.
  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.
  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2 – Review Data Schema

  • Data Schema: The request and response data schemas are displayed. If the operation uses a transformation, the data schemas will be displayed again later during the transformation mapping process, where you can map to target fields using source objects, scripts, variables, custom values, and more.

    TIP: During the transformation mapping process, you can map to either the internalId or externalId fields in NetSuite to associate the records to be deleted.
  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.
  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.
  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a NetSuite delete activity, you can use it within an operation as described below. In addition, if you are running into record limits imposed by the API, you may want to use chunking.

Completing the Operation

After configuring a NetSuite delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activitiestransformations, or scripts as operation steps (see Operation Creation and Configuration). You can also configure an operation's operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows (see Operation Settings).

NetSuite delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

Operations that contain a NetSuite activity can have only one NetSuite activity and cannot also contain any Salesforce, SAP, ServiceMax, or SOAP activities.

Other patterns are not valid using NetSuite delete activities. See the validation patterns on the Operation Validity page.

This example setup depicts one common operation setup using a NetSuite delete activity:

When ready, deploy and run the operation (see Operation Deployment and Execution) and validate behavior by checking the operation logs (see Operation Logs).

Using Chunking

Many web service APIs have size limitations. If you are running into record limits imposed by the API, you may want to use chunking to split the source data into multiple chunks. The transformation is then performed on each chunk separately, with each source chunk producing one target chunk. The resulting target chunks combine to produce the final target.

For instructions and best practices on using chunking, see Operation Options.

On This Page

Last updated:  Jan 17, 2020

  • No labels