This page describes basic information about working with projects, including what access is granted by various permissions, how collaboration works when editing projects simultaneously with other users, and how auto-saving works.
- Read: Users with read access for a given organization/environment have these permissions. In addition, users with an expired subscription have these permissions:
- View the list of projects from the project index.
- Open projects to view within the project designer.
- View project and component configuration screens (for example, connection/activity, transformation, script).
- Read/Write: Users with read and write access for a given organization/environment have these permissions:
- View the list of projects and create projects from the project index.
- Open projects to view and edit within the project designer.
- View and edit project and component configuration screens.
- Create new workflows.
- Add project components.
- Deploy and migrate projects.
Projects are enabled for editing for all org members regardless of a member's Harmony role and permission set. However, only authorized user edits will be saved. Upon attempting to save, the behavior depends on whether the user has an active or expired subscription:
- Active Subscription: The edits of a read-only user with an active subscription will be rejected and the user will receive a message indicating a permissions error for the environment.
- Expired Subscription: The edits of a user with an expired subscription will be rejected and the user will receive a message indicating their subscription has expired.
In both cases, the user will remain logged in and can continue to browse the project without making edits.
Users with read/write permissions and an active subscription can make edits to integration projects at the same time as other users – called project collaborators – as well as make edits to different parts of a project. Cloud Studio automatically synchronizes workflows and components across multiple users.
If a workflow is being edited by another user, you will see those changes reflected in real time on the design canvas. You can also make workflow changes simultaneously, with your changes reflected in real time for other users.
You may edit project components concurrently with other users, with any edits being auto-saved and synchronized in real time.
In the rare event that user A edits a component prior to receiving the latest changes from user B, user A's edit will be rejected until the synchronization is completed.
If edits by multiple project collaborators have not yet been deployed, all users' updates will be deployed when a single user deploys.
Changes you make to a project are either saved automatically with auto-save, or saved manually with an explicit button or key shortcut on a configuration screen.
While editing a project or project component, your changes are auto-saved when you perform one of these actions:
Close a project component (transformation, script, etc.)
- Close the project
- Log out of the Harmony Portal
These include when the project or component is closed due to Harmony session timeout or navigating away from the project. Upon auto-save, all changes are saved to the project.
Many configuration screens have explicit buttons that can be clicked to save an individual component configuration. These buttons may be labeled in a variety of ways. For example:
In addition, the script and transformation configuration screens support manual saving using
Command+S on Mac).
The save status on auto-save screens is displayed along the top of each screen.
The save status of a project is reflected within each workflow, on the far left of the design canvas header:
The save status for the script editor is displayed below the script name:
The save status for the transformation configuration screen is displayed to the right of the transformation name:
The presence of a red asterisk following the time indicates that the transformation has unsaved changes.
Last updated: Sep 30, 2019
- No labels