Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

A Salesforce Delete activity interacts with a Salesforce connection to delete data as a target in an operation. After configuring a Salesforce connection, you can configure as many Salesforce activities as you like for each Salesforce connection.

Creating a Salesforce Activity

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Within the Endpoints filter, click the Salesforce connection block to display activities that are available to be used with a Salesforce connection:

To create an activity that can be configured, the activity must first be added to an operation on the design canvas. To add an activity to an operation, drag the activity block from the palette to the operation.

For more information about the parts of an operation and adding activities to operations, see Operation Creation and Configuration.

Accessing Menu Actions

After a Salesforce activity has been added to an operation, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in both the Workflows and Components tabs, and from the design canvas:

  • Project Pane: In the Workflows or Components tab of the project pane, hover over an activity name and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu.

  • Design Canvas: Within the operation, click an existing activity block to open the actions menu.

Each of these menu actions is available:

  • View/Edit: This opens the activity configuration screen for you to configure the activity. For details, see Configuring a Salesforce Delete Activity later on this page.
  • Delete: This is used to permanently delete the activity (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Rename: This positions the cursor on the activity name in the project pane for you to make edits.
  • View Dependencies: This changes the view in the project pane to display any other parts of the project that the activity is dependent on (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Remove: Available only from the actions menu on the design canvas, this removes the activity as a step in the operation without deleting it from the project. When you remove an activity that is adjacent to a transformation, if schemas are provided within that activity, they will no longer be referenced by the transformation. Removed components can be accessed or permanently deleted from the project pane (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Deploy: This deploys the activity and any components it is dependent on (see Component Deployment).
  • Configurable Deploy: This opens the deployment screen, where you can select project components to deploy (see Component Deployment).
  • Add to group: This opens a prompt to create a new custom group or to add the component to an existing group. Custom groups are an organizational tool to help organize a project (see Component Groups).
  • Duplicate: This creates a copy of the activity as a new, unreferenced component. Upon creating the component copy, the cursor is positioned on the component name within the project pane for you to rename the component.

Configuring a Salesforce Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a Salesforce Delete activity:

Step 1 – Enter Basic Information

  • Name: Enter a name to use to identify the Salesforce Delete activity. The name must be unique for each Salesforce Delete activity and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).
  • Save & Exit: If enabled, click to save the configuration for this step and close the activity configuration.
  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.
  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2 – Review Data Schema

  • Data Schema: The request and response data schemas are displayed.

    The version of Salesforce REST API that is used depends on the Harmony Agent version you are using. See Prerequisites and Supported API Versions for links to documentation on the schema fields.

    TIP: Within the node ids on the request side of the structure is a text value as represented by a field, which is intended to be used to provide the Salesforce record ID(s). Later, during the transformation mapping process, you can map to the ids on the target side in order to provide the Salesforce record ID(s) to delete.
    NOTE: To refresh a data schema in an existing activity, you must advance through each activity configuration step again, making at least one change (such as adding and removing a character from the end of the name of the activity) to force a refresh of the schema.
  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.
  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.
  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a Salesforce Delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities, transformations, or scripts as operation steps. You can also configure an operation's operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

After a Salesforce Delete activity has been created, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in either the Workflows or the Components tabs, and from the design canvas. See Activity Actions Menu for details.

Salesforce Delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

Operations that contain a Salesforce activity can have only one Salesforce activity and cannot also contain any other application activities.

A Salesforce activity can be used as an operation step in only a single operation. That is, you cannot reference the same activity multiple times within other operations. Instead, you can make a copy of a Salesforce activity to use elsewhere (see Component Reuse).

Other patterns are not valid using Salesforce Delete activities. See the validation patterns on the Operation Validity page.

To use a Salesforce Delete activity, you provide the Salesforce ID(s) for the record(s) you want to delete during the transformation mapping process. A common way to find the records you want to delete is to first set up a Salesforce Query activity, get the IDs back from the query, and then use those IDs as the source for the Delete activity. This example setup depicts one common operation setup using a Salesforce Delete activity:

Within a transformation, if using the option to mirror a schema provided by a non-bulk Salesforce activity, then the resulting mirrored schema will automatically be created with an additional root node called records with the child node(s) mirroring the schema. When fields within the child node(s) are mapped to, the node becomes a loop node to allow all records to be looped through (see Loop Nodes under Nodes and Fields).

Operations that use Salesforce activities can also have operation actions configured to trigger upon a SOAP fault — an error resulting from an incorrect message format, header processing, or incompatibility. Operation actions can be configured to run an operation or send an email after a SOAP fault occurs. For instructions on triggering an action upon SOAP fault, refer to Operation Actions.

To use the activity with scripting functions, write the data to a temporary location and then use that temporary location in the scripting function.

When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.

On This Page

Last updated:  Jul 29, 2020

  • No labels