Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

This page describes the actions available for schemas after they are created, accessible from the project pane or the transformation. These include deleting, renaming, viewing dependencies of, deploying, configurable deploying of a schema, and adding to a group, as well as editing the configuration of an activity providing a schema, editing a schema, or clearing a schema from a transformation.

Project Pane Menu Actions

After a schema is created, menu actions for that schema are accessible from the project pane. In the Components tab, hover over a schema name and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu.

These menu actions are available:

  • Delete: This is used to permanently delete the schema (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Rename: This positions the cursor on the schema name in the project pane for you to make any edits as necessary.
  • View Dependencies: This changes the view in the project pane to display any other parts of the project that the schema is dependent on (see Component Dependencies, Deletion, and Removal).
  • Deploy: This deploys the schema and any components it is dependent on (see Component Deployment).
  • Configurable Deploy: This opens the deployment screen, where you can select project components to deploy (see Component Deployment).
  • Add to group: This opens a prompt to create a new custom group or to add the schema to an existing group. Custom groups are an organizational tool to help organize a project (see Component Groups).

Transformation Menu Actions

After defining a schema within a transformation, menu actions for that schema are available along the top of the transformation configuration screen in mapping mode and script mode. Along the top of either the source or target side, click the gear icon  to open the actions menu:

  • Edit Activity: Available only when the transformation has an adjacent activity with a schema, this opens the activity configuration for you to make changes as necessary (see Schemas Defined in an Activity). For file-based activities, you can edit the configuration to clear or swap out the file you selected to use for the file schema. For other activities, you can edit the query, change the object selection, or other such configuration. 

    TIP: If you see another schema besides the schema provided by the activity in the transformation, you may have another schema defined in the transformation that is overriding the activity schema. After clearing the schema being used in the transformation (with the Clear Schema option), the schema provided by the activity will be inherited by the transformation.
  • Edit Schema: Available only for schemas that are editable, this opens the schema editor for you to edit the schema (see Schemas Defined in a Transformation). When you edit a schema that was created from a sample file in a transformation, the configuration screen opens for a custom flat schema or custom hierarchical schema opens for you to add or edit fields and/or nodes as required.

    CAUTION: Schemas provided by an adjacent activity are not editable. 
  • Clear Schema: Available only for schemas defined within a transformation, this clears the current schema from the transformation. When removing a schema, a message will ask you to confirm removal of the schema, with these results:
    • Source Schema: Removal of a source schema may result in invalid mappings. For more information, see Transformation Mapping Validity.

    • Target Schema: Removal of a target schema will remove all mappings.
    NOTE: After clearing the schema, if an adjacent activity is providing a schema, it will automatically be inherited by the transformation.

On This Page

Last updated:  Oct 30, 2019

  • No labels