Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

Viewing the dependencies of a workflow lists the other project components that the workflow is dependent on. If other components are dependent on the workflow, those dependencies must be removed before a workflow can be deleted.

Definitions

It is important to understand the terminology when discussing dependencies. Two distinct phrases are used: "dependent on" and "dependency of." In these examples, Component A is said to be dependent on Component B. Component B is said to be a dependency of Component A:

  • Dependent on: If a component is dependent on another component, it needs that component in order to function properly. A component that is dependent on another component cannot stand alone without that component. When Component A needs Component B in order to execute successfully, Component A is said to be dependent on Component B. Another way to say this is that Component A depends on Component B.
  • Dependency of: If a component is a dependency of another component, it is needed by the first component in order for the first component to function properly. A component that is a dependency of another component is the component that is needed by another. When Component A needs Component B in order to execute successfully, Component B is said to be a dependency of Component A.

Viewing Dependencies

The option to view workflow dependencies is accessible from the project pane. In the Workflows tab of the project pane, hover over a workflow name and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu. From the menu, select View Dependencies.

Upon selecting this option, the dependency view opens in the Workflows tab of the project pane:

In dependency view, the name of the selected workflow appears along the top, below the existing search and filter capabilities.

The workflow name is followed by a list of Dependencies that the workflow is dependent on. This list is organized by categories such as Operation, Activity, Transformation, and Script. Each category can be expanded or collapsed using the disclosure triangles  .

Only dependencies of the workflow that are a single level deep are displayed. For example, while the listed script "Format and Log Product Failure" is a dependency of the workflow, other components that are a dependency of the script are not displayed. Neither are components that are dependent on the workflow displayed (that is, components that the workflow itself is a dependency of are not listed).

To close out of dependency view, click the close icon .

Deleting

The option to permanently delete a workflow is accessible from the project pane. In the Workflows tab of the project pane, hover over a workflow name and click the actions menu icon  to open the actions menu. From the menu, select Delete.

Upon selecting this option, if there are other project components that are dependent on the workflow, those components will be listed:

Note that the text in this message incorrectly states that dependencies of the workflow are listed. This is not true, and in fact any components that are dependent on the workflow are actually what is actually listed. Click Continue to return to the project designer without any action taking place.

To make it so the workflow can be deleted, you must modify the project so that the workflow is not dependent on these components. For example, if an operation in Workflow B is linked downstream of an operation in Workflow A using operation actions, first remove the link and then try again to delete the workflow.

If there are no other components that have this workflow as a dependency of any component, a message will ask you to confirm you want to delete the workflow:

Click Continue to permanently delete the workflow and any operations contained within it. Note that any project components used within those operations will not be deleted and can still be accessed or referenced in other operations.

WARNING: When a workflow is deleted, any operations within the workflow will also be deleted.

To permanently delete a component within an operation, delete it individually from the project pane (see Project Components).

On This Page

Last updated:  Apr 15, 2020

  • No labels