Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This page describes the options that are configurable for any operation. To reach these options, right-click on the background of any operation graph and select Options in the menu. The Operations Options window will display. 

The following sections describe each option available within this window:

Operation Time Out

  • What is it? The Operation Time Out is the maximum amount of time the operation will run for before being canceled. If your operation has large datasets or is complex, this may cause the operation to take a longer time to run.
  • What's the default? By default, the Operation Time Out is set to 2 hours. If the operation is running for more than 2 hours without completing or failing, it will be automatically canceled.
  • Why change it? You may wish to increase this value if the operation has large datasets that are taking a long time to run. Or decrease it if the operations are time-sensitive; i.e., you do not want the operation to be accomplished if it cannot complete within a certain timeframe.

What to Log

  • What is it? The What to Log option lets you choose between "Everything" or "Errors Only." These are the logs that you can view when you right-click on the background of an operation and choose Operation Log. Note that within the Operation Log, you also have the option to filter by errors only.
  • What's the default? By default, everything is logged. This includes success, canceled, pending, running, and error statuses.
  • Why change it? A reason that you may wish to select "Errors Only" prior to the log being generated is that if you are having operation latency issues this may improve them. This way, if you weren't planning on using the other non-error messages normally filtered out in the Operation Log, you can prevent them from being generated in the first place.

WARNING: Downloading of operation log files is disabled on agents in a Cloud Agent Group. For security, logs from Agents in a Cloud Agent Group are removed as soon as they are no longer required for an operation to execute properly. Though a download link may show in the Management Console, you will receive an error message if you attempt to download using that link.

Enable Debug Mode

  • What is it? Debug logging allows you to log debug messages to files on the Jitterbit Agent. This option is used mainly for debugging problems during testing and should not be turned on in production. This option is used to enable debug mode for a single operation. Debug logging can also be enabled for the entire project from the Jitterbit Agent itself (see Enabling Debug Logging).
  • What's the default? Debug mode is turned off by default. If you check the box to turn it on, you must also specify a date that debug mode will automatically be turned back off. This date is limited to 2 weeks from the current date. Debugging will be turned off at the beginning of that date (i.e., 12:00 a.m.) using the timezone of the Agent.
  • Why change it? Selective debug logging can help if you are having issues with a particular operation and do not need to turn on debug logging for your entire project, which can create very large files within the directory.

WARNING: Downloading of operation log files is disabled on agents in a Cloud Agent Group. For security, logs from Agents in a Cloud Agent Group are removed as soon as they are no longer required for an operation to execute properly. Though a download link may show in the Management Console, you will receive an error message if you attempt to download using that link.

Run Success Operation

  • What is it? The option Run success Operation even if there are no matching source files applies to operations that have OnSuccess triggers set up.
  • What's the default? By default, your OnSuccess operations will only run if they have a matching source file to process.
  • Why change it? You have the option to "force" the previous operation to be successful, effectively letting you kick off the OnSuccess operation even if the trigger failed. This can be useful for setting up later parts of project without depending on success of a dependent operation.

Enable Chunking

  • What is it? Chunking allows Jitterbit to process data to the target system in chunks. 
    • The Chunk size tells Jitterbit how many source records to process per thread.
    • The Number of Records Per File instructs Jitterbit to place only the requested number of records in the target file.
    • The Max number of threads tells Jitterbit how many concurrent threads to process.
    • The Source chunk node and Target chunk node enable the user to define what constitutes a record and should be set for hierarchical data structures and XML.
  • What's the default? By default, chunking is not enabled.
  • Why change it? This allows for faster processing of large datasets and is also used to address record limits imposed by various web-service-based systems when making a request.
On This Page

Related Topics

Last updated:  Dec 26, 2018