Skip to Content

Message Queues (Beta)

Introduction

The Message Queues (Beta) page of the Management Console allows a user to create and manage their queues to be used with the Jitterbit Message Queue (Beta) Service. To access the Message Queues (Beta) page, log in to the Harmony Portal, then use the Harmony Portal menu in the top left and navigate to Management Console > Message Queues:

Note

The Message Queue service is currently released as a beta version and is available only to a limited set of users. To participate in the beta program or provide feedback on bugs and enhancements, contact your Customer Success Manager (CSM).

Message Queues Page Header

The header along the top of the Message Queues (Beta) page includes three configuration tabs:

Message Queues Header

Message Queues Tab

Within the Message Queues tab, you create message queues.

Create Message Queues

Use the Add Queue button to create a new message queue:

Message Queues Add Queue

After clicking Add Queue, a configuration screen opens:

Message Queues Configure Queue

  • Queue Name: Enter a name for the message queue. The queue name must be unique to the environment in which the queue is being created within.

  • Type: Select the type of queue to create, either Quorum or Classic:

    • Quorum: Implements replicated queues (also known as mirrored queues), writes queue metadata to a disk, and provides protection against data loss, by default.

    • Classic: Implements replicated or non-replicated queues.

  • Durability: If Classic is selected as the Type, select the durability of the queue, either Durable or Transient:

    • Durable: Durable queues write metadata to disk. Durable queues (and their messages) are recovered in a system reboot. This option can result in longer processing times.

    • Transient: Transient queues store metadata in memory. Transient queues (and their messages) are not recovered in a system reboot. This option can result in a shorter processing times.

    Note

    If Quorum is selected as the Type, Durable is the only Durability option available.

  • Environment: Select the environment for the message queue.

  • Auto Delete: This option is not functional.

  • Advanced Options: You can use these advanced options to refine your use case:

    • Message TTL (Time to Live): Enter the message TTL (Time to Live) in milliseconds. The default and maximum value allowed is 864000000 milliseconds (10 days).

    • Message Limit: Enter the number of messages allowed within the queue at any time. The default and maximum value allowed is 1000 messages.

    • Size Limit: Enter the message length (in bytes) allowed for each message within the queue. The default and maximum value allowed is 524288000 bytes (approximately 524 megabytes).

    • Lazy Mode: When using a classic queue, select to write the contents of an inactive queue to disk. Data is then loaded to memory when needed. This option allows the system to free up memory resources when classic queues are not actively being used.

  • Cancel: Click to discard the queue and return to the Message Queues tab.

  • Save: Click to save the queue and return to the Message Queues tab, where the created queue is displayed in the message queues table.

View Message Queues

Each row in the message queues table displays message queues created within the organization:

Message Queues View Queues

  • Queue Name: The name of the queue.

  • Type: The type of queue, either Quorum or Classic.

  • Status: The status of the queue.

  • Durability: The durability of the queue, either Durable or Transient.

  • Environment: The environment of the queue.

  • Total Messages: The total number of messages within a queue.

  • Ready Messages: The number of messages that have been acknowledged using the Jitterbit MQ (Beta) connector and are ready to be consumed.

  • Unack Messages: The number of unacknowledged messages.

  • Action: In a message queue row, click the Action menu to select from a list of actions for that message queue:

    • Copy Queue Name: Click to copy the queue name to your clipboard. This value is used in a Jitterbit MQ (Beta) Get or Send activity.

    • Delete: Click to delete the queue and all the messages it contains. Deleting a queue will break any activities interacting with the message queue.

    • Purge: Click to delete the messages within a queue. The queue will be retained.

  • Search: Enter any part of the queue name into the search box to filter the list of queues. The search is not case-sensitive. The table results are filtered in real time with each keystroke.

  • Filter: Click the filter icon filter icon to filter the table results by Type, Status, Durability, and Environment.

  • Add Queue: Click to create a new message queue.

  • Refresh: Click the refresh icon refresh icon to refresh the table results.

  • Queue Information: Clicking on a queue row within the table opens a dialog containing additional queue settings, such as the Advanced Options configured during message queue creation:

    Message Queue Information

Authentication Token Tab

Within the Authentication Token tab, you create authentication tokens to be used in a Jitterbit MQ (Beta) connection.

Create Authentication Tokens

Use the Add Token button to create a new authentication token:

Authentication Tokens Add Token

After clicking Add Token, a configuration screen opens:

Authentication Tokens Configure Token

  • Description: Enter a description for the authentication token.

  • Environment: Select the environment for the authentication token. The environment of the token must be the same environment as the message queue and the Cloud Studio project that is using the Jitterbit MQ (Beta) connector.

  • Save: Click to save the authentication token and return to the Authentication Tokens tab, where the created token is displayed in the authentication tokens table.

  • Cancel: Click to cancel the token creation and return to the Authentication Tokens tab.

View Authentication Tokens

Each row in the authentication tokens table displays authentication tokens created within the organization:

Authentication Tokens View Tokens

  • Token: The value of the authentication token.

  • Description: The description of the authentication token.

  • Environment: The environment of the authentication token.

  • Action: In an authentication token row, click the Action menu to select from a list of actions for that token:

    • Copy Token: Click to copy the value of the authentication token to your clipboard. This value is used in a Jitterbit MQ (Beta) connection.

    • Deactivate: Click to deactivate the authentication token. Deactivating the token will remove it from the authentication tokens table and will break any Jitterbit MQ (Beta) connections using that token.

Settings Tab

Within the Settings tab, you enable or disable messaging for environments and set the message queue automatic refresh interval:

Message Queue Settings Tab

  • Enable Message Queues by Environment: Enable messaging queues by environment using these options:

    • Enable All: Click to enable message queues for all environments in the organization.

    • Disable All: Click to disable message queues for all environments in the organization.

    • Discard Changes: Click to discard any changes to the enabled or disabled environments.

    • Apply: Click to apply any changes to the enabled or disabled environments.

    • Search: Enter any part of the environment name into the search box to filter the list of environments. The search is not case-sensitive. The table results are filtered in real time with each keystroke.

  • Message Queue Auto Refresh Interval: From the menu, select the automatic refresh time interval for the Message Queues table data, either 5 Minutes, 15 Minutes, 30 Minutes, or 1 Hour.