Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

Version 1 Current »

Introduction

A Jira delete activity deletes issues at a Jira connection and is used as a target in an operation. After configuring a Jira connection, you can configure as many Jira activities as you like for each Jira connection.

Creating a Jira Activity

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Connectivity tab

Within the Endpoints filter, click the Jira connection block to display activities that are available to be used with a Jira connection:

Connectivity tab

To create an activity that can be configured, the activity must first be added to an operation on the design canvas. To add an activity to an operation, drag the activity block from the palette to the operation.

For more information about the parts of an operation and adding activities to operations, see Operation Creation and Configuration.

Accessing Menu Actions

After a Jira activity has been added to an operation, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in either the Workflows or the Components tabs, and from the design canvas:

  • Project Pane: In the Workflows or Components tab of the project pane, hover over an activity name and click the actions menu icon to open the actions menu.

  • Design Canvas: Within the operation, click an existing activity block to open the actions menu.

Each of these menu actions is available:

  • View/Edit: This opens the activity configuration screen for you to configure the activity. For details, see Configuring a Jira Delete Activity later on this page.

  • Delete: This is used to permanently delete the activity.

  • Rename: This positions the cursor on the activity name in the project pane for you to make edits.

  • View Dependencies: This changes the view in the project pane to display any other parts of the project that the activity is dependent on.

  • Remove: Available only from the actions menu on the design canvas, this removes the activity as a step in the operation without deleting it from the project. When you remove an activity that is adjacent to a transformation, if schemas are provided within that activity, they will no longer be referenced by the transformation. Removed components can be accessed or permanently deleted from the project pane.

  • Deploy: This deploys the activity and any components it is dependent on.

  • Configurable Deploy: This opens the deployment screen, where you can select project components to deploy.

  • Add to group: This opens a prompt to create a new custom group or to add the component to an existing group.

  • Duplicate: This creates a copy of the activity as a new, unreferenced component. Upon creating the component copy, the cursor is positioned on the component name within the project pane for you to rename the component.

Configuring a Jira Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a Jira delete activity:

  • Step 1 – Select an Object
  • Step 2 – Review Data Schema

Step 1 – Select an Object

Jira delete activity configuration step 1

  • Name: Enter a name to use to identify the Jira delete activity. The name must be unique for each post issues activity and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).

  • Select an Object: This section displays objects available for the selected project in the Jira endpoint. When reopening an existing activity configuration, only the selected object is displayed instead of reloading the entire object list.

    • Selected Jira Object: After an object is selected, it will be listed here.
    • Search: Enter any part of the object name into the search box to filter the list of objects. The search is not case-sensitive. If objects are already displayed within the table, the table results will be filtered in real time with each keystroke. To reload objects from the endpoint when searching, enter search criteria and then refresh, as described below.
    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to reload objects from the Jira endpoint. This may be useful if you have recently added objects to the Jira instance. This action refreshes all metadata used to build the table of objects displayed in the configuration.
    • Select an Object: Within the table, click anywhere on a row to select an object. Only one object can be selected. The information available for each object is fetched from the Jira endpoint:
      • Name: The object name from Jira.
      • Description: The object description from Jira.

    TIP: If the table does not populate with available objects, the Jira connection may not be successful. Ensure you are connected by reopening the connection and retesting the credentials.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2 – Review Data Schema

Jira delete activity configuration step 2

  • Data Schema: The request and response data schemas for Jira will be displayed. If the operation uses a transformation, the data schemas will be displayed again later during the transformation mapping process, where you can map to target fields using source objects, scripts, variables, custom values, and more.

    The Jira connector delete activity uses the Jira REST API v3. Refer to the Jira API documentation for Delete issue for information on the schema fields.

    • Request:

      Request Schema Field/NodeNotes
      delete-issue-requestDelete issue request
      issueNode of the issue requests (one or more)
      pathVariablesNode of the path variables
      issueIdOrKeyThe ID or key of the issue
      queryParamsNode of the query parameters
      deleteSubtasksIndicates whether the issue's subtasks are deleted when the issue is deleted
    • Response:

      Response Schema Field/NodeNotes
      delete-issue-responseDelete issue response
      issueNode of the issue (zero or more)
      statusStatus
      idOrKeyThe ID or key of the issue
      messageUpdate message
      errorCollectionNode of the error collection
      errorMessagesThe list of error messages produced by this operation
      errorsThe list of errors by parameter returned by the operation
      statusStatus
  • Add Plugin(s): Plugins are Jitterbit- or user-provided applications that extend Harmony's native capabilities. To apply a plugin to the activity, click to expand this section and select the checkbox next to the plugin to be used. For additional instructions on using plugins, including details on setting any required variables used by the plugin, see Plugins Added to an Activity.

  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click Discard Changes to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message will ask you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a Jira delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities, transformations, or scripts as operation steps. You can also configure an operation's operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

Jira delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

Other patterns are not valid using Jira delete activities. See the validation patterns on the Operation Validity page.

An example of using the activity in a Two-Transformation Pattern operation:

Jira delete operation

To use the activity with scripting functions, write the data to a temporary location and then use that temporary location in the scripting function.

When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.

On This Page

Last updated:  Dec 17, 2019

  • No labels