Creating a Salesforce Delete Operation

This page described how to create a Salesforce Delete operation using the Jitterbit Connect Salesforce Delete Wizard.

Unlike the other Salesforce wizards, which work with a particular Salesforce Object, a Salesforce Delete operation works on any Salesforce Object by using a list of IDs of the records to be deleted. One common way create the list is to use a Salesforce Query to generate the list and then store the results in a file. The list is provided as the source, and a field in the source is used in the transformation mapping to provide the Salesforce IDs of the records to be deleted. As Salesforce IDs are unique across different Objects, an Object reference is not required.

The wizard follows these steps:

Start the Wizard

  • To start the wizard, click the Salesforce Delete button in the Jitterbit Connect Wizard menu, which opens the wizard.

Salesforce Login

Define the Source

Create a Schedule and Set Options

  • Click the Response Option checkbox if you need to interact with the response from Salesforce and want to map information directly from that response:
  • When finished, click Next to move to the Summary screen.

Summary Screen

On the Summary, you can edit the Name given to the wizard:


  • Click Map & Finish to move to the transformation mapping and to complete the wizard.
  • Both tabs open with the Transformations tab fully displayed, and the Project Items Panel populates.

Transformation Mapping

The transformation mapping appears in your work area:

  • If you use the Auto Map button, most or all of the field mapping may be completed. Complete any manual mapping as appropriate.
  • A mapping is shown as a line between items in the Source (left) and Target (right) columns.
  • A green line indicates a valid mapping and is further indicated by the presence of a blue square next to each validly mapped item name.
  • A red line indicates an invalid mapping.
  • A yellow line indicates that a mapping is of questionable validity; however, the operation will attempt the transformation with that mapping.
  • You can complete the mapping on the Transformation tab by dragging and dropping from the Source on the left to the Target on the right. When you do so, and a valid mapping is the result, the Target item will take on the same name as the Source item, and a blue square will appear to the left of both the Source and Target items.
  • To save your transformation, click the down arrow on the Status ribbon and select Save.

Complete the mapping as required and click Finish to complete the wizard and the creation of the design items. 

Completed Salesforce Delete

  • Once completed, you will be taken to the summary screen for the new Salesforce Delete.
  • You can return to this summary page by finding its operation name under Jitterbit Connect in the Project Items panel.
  • You can modify any of the design items in your project such as Salesforce Login, Read data from, Mappings, Operation, and Run on Schedule by clicking their adjacent Edit button.
  • The Run Delete, Test Delete, Result History, and Delete button functions are described below in Deploy the Project and Run the Operation
  • Advanced Options include operation options such as chunking and field truncation. They are covered below in Advanced Options.

Advanced Options

These advanced options are available for a Salesforce Delete:

File Options

  • Read as UTF-8: Select to read the source file as UTF-8 character encoding.
  • Source file has a header: Selected by default, indicates if there is a header and ignore it as not data.
  • Start at data row: Gives the row number of the first row of the source file to be considered as data.

Operation Options

  • Chunking settings: Displays a dialog to set the chunking settings. By default, chunking is enabled with a chunk size of 200 and a maximum number of 2 threads. See the Salesforce Advanced page.
  • Retry Policy: Displays a dialog to set the retry policies. See the Salesforce Advanced page.
  • All or none: If selected, any failed records in a call cause all changes for the call to be rolled back.
  • Duplicate Records Rules:
    • Allow save: If selected, allows the saving of duplicate records, bypassing any Salesforce alerts.
    • Include record details: If selected, returns fields and values for records detected as duplicates; otherwise, only record IDs are returned.
    • Run as current user: If selected, the sharing rules for the current user are enforced.

Additional operation options for writing success and failure records are described on the Salesforce Advanced page.

Deploy the Project and Run the Operation

Last updated: